Speaker Details



Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Senior Group Leader, Janelia Research Campus

Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz is a Senior Group Leader at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute’s Janelia Research Campus. She has pioneered the use of green fluorescent protein technology for quantitative analysis and modelling of intracellular protein traffic and organelle dynamics in live cells and embryos. Her innovative techniques to label, image, quantify and model specific live cell protein populations and track their fate have provided vital tools used throughout the research community. Her own findings using these techniques have reshaped thinking about the biogenesis, function, targeting and maintenance of various subcellular organelles and macromolecular complexes and their crosstalk with regulators of the cell cycle, metabolism, aging, and cell fate determination. She is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine, the American Society of Arts and Sciences and the European Molecular Biology Organization. She is also a Fellow of The Biophysical Society, The Royal Microscopical Society and The American Society of Cell Biology. Her awards include the Pearse Prize of the Royal Microscopy Society, the Newcomb Cleveland Prize of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Van Deenen Medal, the Keith Porter Award of the American Society of Cell Biology, the Feodor Lynen Medal, and the Feulgen Prize of the Society of Histochemistry. She co-authored of the textbook “Cell Biology” and was President of the American Society of Cell Biology. Dr. Lippincott-Schwartz attended Swarthmore College and received her PhD in Biochemistry from Johns Hopkins University in 1986.

Symposium Faculty

Russell Foster

University of Oxford

Peng Li

Tsinghua University

Christopher Glass

University of California San Diego

Takashi Kadowaki

University of Tokyo

Roger D. Kornberg

Stanford University

Judith Klumperman

University Medical Center Utrecht

Jeffrey Friedman

Rockefeller University

Gisou Van Der Goot

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne

David Sabatini

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Satchindananda Panda

Salk Institute for Biological Studies

Anu Suomalainen

University of Helsinki

Tobias Walther

Harvard Medical School

David Mangelsdorf

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Nilay Yapıcı

Cornell University

Semir Beyaz

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

Gülçin Pekkurnaz

University of California San Diego

Betül Kaçar

University of Arizona